Bypolls for Mainpuri LS, 5 assembly seats on December 5, counting on December 8 | India News

NEW DELHI: Five assembly seats in as many states, and the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh will vote in by-elections on December 5, the Election Commission has announced.
The assembly seats are spread across Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Bihar and Chhattisgarh.
The Mainpuri LS seat fell vacant due to the death os Samjawadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav.
The Rampur assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after incumbent Azam Khan, also of the SP, was disqualified following his conviction and sentencing in a hate speech case from 2019.
Four more assembly seats- Padampur in Odisha, Sardarshahar in Rajasthan, Kurhani in Bihar and Bhanupratappur in Chhattisgarh- will also vote in bypolls on the same day.
The counting for all bypolls will be conducted on December 8.
The day will be a busy one for poll pundits, as counting for the assembly elections for Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh will also be conducted on December 8.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.